Making Marks – Exercise 3

Now to the fun part! I am getting a bit carried away with each new medium and haven’t even touched any paint yet. I had never used watercolour pencils before and was really impressed with how hey transform when wet. The difference between wetting before and after applying the pencil marks are quite stark.  Moving onto soft pastels, my favourite square was created drawing with soft pastels on wet paper (bottom right in picture below). It was not as easy with soft pastels to get the same variation in marks as with pencils.

Image

Since reading Drawn to Stitch, I have been itching to try making marks with inks and various drawing implements. Being Christmas, we had a lots of bottle tops, corks and christmas tree branches about to make marks with. The Christmas tree branch made the most interesting textural marks (centre bottom).

I next tried dripping and blowing drops of ink on wet and dry paper, allowing it to dry and dripping water droplets and blowing them to disperse the ink further. Stippling ink with sponges was quite successful. The scourer gave a more even but still textural finish.

Image

When I first started experimenting with wax crayons they were my least favourite and I felt the results were quite flat and dull in their finish. The blending of colours was more interesting though. I was amazed how much the marks were altered by the addition of turps, and how the pigment could be moved around the page. I can see the potential in scraping and wax relief drawings and plan to explore this further.

Image

The first three images here are soft pastels on wet and dry paper. I then tried drawing with oil pastels then soft pastels and water added after. I wondered how well the oil pastels would work as a relief. I think the effect would be better with ink or watercolour as the dry soft pastel tended to catch in the oil pastel marks.

Image

I have collected a range of papers and tea bags for drawing, and also have gouache and watercolour paints to so some more exploratory work with. I am practicing sketching and researching other artists marks.

Leave a Reply

