Using marks to develop surface textures

As a starting point for this project I have been researching a number of European artists as outlined in the coursebook. I was aware of some of Klee’s watercolours in the past, but I borrowed a book of his work and have been surprised by the huge variation of marks in his work. In the page here I worked from two very different paintings, although they both maintain his cubist forms. I explored the layering and rough blending of colour with oil pastels using ‘Lanscape Near E (Bavaria)’ as a reference. I then explored making marks with watercolour and demarcating them with ink marks, such as in ‘Untitled 1914/18’.  Although Klee used a pen and ink, I applied the ink with a cocktail stick as I felt it enabled me to better emulate his marks.

I then worked on multimedia textural representations of some photos I have taken at our allotment and on a day trip to the beach. I was particularly happy with the rhubarb leaves on a degraded plastic lining material, although if I did it again I would apply the collaged tissue slightly differently to leave the string more exposed at the top.

Working from life, I drew a wilting leaf from our tree fern, some scrunched up kitchen foil and a picnic hamper. The earlier mark making exercises were really helpful, and tried to choose a range of textures in the objects to try as many approaches as possible in capturing them.

This was in my sketchbook from last week, but I felt it fitted in well here  as I tried to capture the soft folds of leather and the hard metallic buckle with soft pastels and graphite.

Leave a Reply

