March holiday

I have had some time on holiday, and like all good students have taken the opportunity to do some sketching and visit some museums. I had a week at home with Mum to visit Dorset, and we visited the Blandford Museum of Fashion. Amongst other things we were both interested in Dorset buttons and Dorset Feather Stitching which was developed in the 1950’s by Olivia Pass. It consists of brightly coloured feather stitches, usually in a paisley pattern arrangement, and patterns created by couching rick-rack. It will be interesting to have a go at these techniques at some point.

We then spent a week in East Riding, and visited Yorkshire Sculpture Park(YSP),  Beverley Minster, Bempton cliffs, The Deep aquarium and Ferens Art Gallery in Hull. The holiday was full of inspiration and I took lots of notes of techniques that would be interesting to try to incorporate into my own work. One particularly good exhibition for this was the Ferens Open exhibition which had a mixture of textiles, mixed media, painting and printing. I took notes on colour ideas, construction techniques, composition and patterns. At the Deep Aquarium, there was an exhibition by artist Martin Waters which featured a number of assemblages and collections of plastic found in the river. Some of these were really striking and can be found on his website here. At the YSP we saw the majority of the Miro sculpures ahead of the exhibition opening this weekend. I spent time with the vast numbers of Henry Moore sculptures, admiring not only their form, but the patina and marks visible close up.

I have started to post a sketch each day on twitter to motivate myself to keep at it. My first day effort of a window was somewhat diasappointing. I had done a pencil drawing then painted watercolour afterwards. The next day I tried another window, this time sketching in watercolour and adding pen on top. The result was far better, and I have decided to stick with this technique. I also did some landscape sketches. The pen doodle was inspired by a pattern idea I saw in a book bought at the YSP called ‘Pattern’ by Drusilla Cole. I also incorporated ideas from the day and motifs I had seen.  Today’s sketch is an oil pastel drawing of our newly replenished and overflowing  fruit bowl. At the moment I am working on trying to loosen up my style, keeping the media varied and trying out a variety of ideas.

One comment on “March holiday

  1. Thans glad you liked them. Martin Waters

Leave a Reply

