Manipulating Fabric and 3D Forms – Preparation

I got my feedback for assignment two this week, and am absolutely delighted! I have some really positive and encouraging comments that have really boosted my confidence moving onto this project. I have been really looking forward to this project, and even more so now that I can incorporate skills learned over the past few months. In preparation for project 6, I spent a morning organising my fabrics. I already keep my stash in four main boxes – warm colours, cool colours, black and neutrals, and sheer fabrics. I cut a small sample from each and have made A4 reference colour group boards.

I am continuing to develop designs from my sketches as in project 4, and this page came from a photo of Clipper lighters on a market stall. I used a round sponge tip, the circular end of my OCA pen, and two small stamps cut from erasers to create these prints. I experimented with isolating shapes and abstracting them, and am very happy with the results, particularly the lower left of the page.

I took this photo of a fabric stall at the same market, and did an initial sketch in oil pastels, before a larger version in 2 ink colours. I chose it as I enjoyed the repetition of shapes and liked the idea of contrasting one area with another by portraying these similar shapes in differing ways through the piece.

I then made a collage of burgundy tissue paper on black paper with Modpodge, and applied pearlescent gold in a clear acrylic ink medium over the whole thing. A gold oil paintstick was applied to the lower half of the collage, blended under the rolls and left unblended at the bottom. I would like to use this as a basis for a fabric sample using gathering and applique.

I then took this photo of a peeling tree bark, and made a couple of gouache sketches. I selected an interesting area and reworked it in oil pastels on black paper. I was particularly drawn to the blue/greens against the red tones. The gouache sketch gave me the inspiration to seperate out the light blue and green, which I think worked well.

I then cut and wove a copy of one of the gouache sketches, and sketched it in soft pastels. I also played with the colours and marks in ink.

I’m particularl drawn to the oil pastel sketch here as it is full of energy and the colours work really well.

 

Leave a Reply

