Further Monoprint

For my final example of mixed techniques, I chose to work from a sketch of a half pulled down brewery building in town. It had been taken down in sections such that a patchwork of outlines were left on the remaining wall. I then masked of a small area of the sketch for further development.

IMG_4985ed

IMG_4984ed

I tried redrawing this section in A4 format with gouache and watersoluble wax pastel overdrawing, but it wasn’t quite working in it’s existing form. I wanted to bring some brighter colour into it rather than sticking to neutrals, and took inspiration from my recent visit to Kaffe Fassett’s exhibition. I have a copy of ‘Glorious Knitting’ and referenced this pattern as colour inspiration.

IMG_4988ed

By extending some lines and creating a patchwork of shapes, I came up with this acrylic ink design for the print. The added surface pattern was meant to help keep the two main shapes well demarcated.

IMG_4987ed

The final print was printed a colour at a time, using a sketch beneath the glass as a guide for blocking out the shapes with a roller and silicone shaper. I was purposely not too strict about the exact lines, but paid care to achieve good registration and enjoyed the interaction of overlapping colour versus white gaps. I also used blockprinting medium alone to give a crisp bold colour with a more textured print rather than uniform blocks of colour. Finally, a few areas were carefully inked thinly and backdrawn.

IMG_4991ed

I’m not completely sure how successful the backdrawing was, and wonder if it would have been better to enhance the pattern in the initial colour application.

 

Leave a Reply

