Colouricious Block Printing Holiday

It has been a long time since my last post, and this is partly because I have just returned from a textiles and block printing holiday to Jaipur, India with Colouricious Creatives. I have visited a paper factory making handmade papers for retailers sich as Paperchase; the Anokhi factory, museum and block carvers and printers who have ranges in EAST stores; and had the opportunity to weave beside a rug weaver in the Jaipur City Palace. I have learnt so much, and although have written up research points in the past about this industry, I feel I have achieved a whole new level of understanding. Over the coming days and weeks, I will be writing posts on my experiences illustrated with my photographs, and working on a themed sketchbook started whilst I was away. I had grand plans for beautifully considered photos and lots of plein air sketching, but the hustle and bustle of life in Rajasthan did not allow for this. If you are inspired by this, I would highly recommend this company to travel with, run by the lovely Jamie Malden.

Leave a Reply

