Dorset Art Weeks

We currently have Dorset Arts Weeks underway locally, and I have been getting to as many exhibitions and speaking to as many artists as I can. I am aiming to put on my own exhibition in 2015 and have looking particularly at how work is displayed, marketed and priced. In my journeys I have also picked up a lot of practical printing tips from printmakers such as Liz Somerville, who produces large hand painted linoprints with a final print layer over the top. We had a long chat about creating depth in landscapes, and her influences which include Eastern European woodcuts. I also got advice on landscapes and creating depth from oil painter Caz Scott, as this is something I struggle with. I have met and had specific advice on collagraphs and monoprints from Sarah Ross-Thompson, Genevieve Lavers, and Robin Moorcroft.  One huge thing that I think will improve my work greatly is seeing how monoprinting techniques can be used in inking up a plate, be it a collagraph or lino cut. I will definitely keep this all in mind when reworking my representational collagraph.

As part of art weeks, Hugh Dunford Wood has opened his home for an exhibition including other big names such as Karina Gill, who is often seen in the pages of Craft magazine. Hugh trained at Ruskin School of Art in the 1970’s, was artist in residence at the Royal Shakespeare Company and Globe Theatre, and has exhibited internationally. He currently has a number of strings to his artistic bow, painting portraits, producing home furnishings from linocuts including cushions and wallpapers, and most excitingly for me – collages including linocut prints. He calls these prints Collino prints. These are prints on scraps of various papers, combined with ink rolled directly onto the base paper, and some lino prints directly onto the base paper. There is a narrative element to the images, but rather than a linear storyline, they represent more of a poem, a moment. I haven’t reproduced an example here, so as to avoid any copyright problems, but I have provided a link to his work above.

I am thinking of incorporating the idea of collino prints into my butterfly theme for my final project.

Leave a Reply

